The Best of All Possible Worlds

August 6, 2016 at 8:38 am 1 comment

“The Best of All Possible Worlds” – A Poem by Marie Etzler

The tree has given me the answer:

“Just because much of the world is in bad shape, doesn’t mean I should be.

I am shining in my fullness.

My leaves are green and healthy.

My trunk is strong.

Together we sway in the tropical breeze to the music of the Earth. We are an example of the beauty that can be.

We exemplify what is possible.”

palm-trees2

*This answer came to my recurring question: With all the terrible events in the world, with all the suffering, how do we go on? Where am I to find purpose? How can I possibly make a difference? This has troubled me, and will again, but today, at this moment, the message is clear as I see the palm fronds tossing back and forth in the breeze, just as they were designed to do. They are fulfilling their purpose. Thus I can take purpose from their example. There is no reason to degrade oneself and act like others who do less. There must be examples of good and beauty, and the tree was it for me today. Thank God for the tree.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Why I miss Downton Abbey on Sunday Nights China to Stop Processing and Selling Ivory in 2017

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Your email will not be shared elsewhere.

Join 17 other followers

Archive


